The old Star Inn, Ware

Now Amwell Tandoori

S Williams

The Star Inn (on the right) c1900
Ware's Past in Pictures
The Star, late 1950s
Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies
Derelict in 1974
Architects' Journal
Vivat Ware pamphlet, Herts Archives
Newly opened as Ben's Brasserie, 1981
Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies
Advert in 1981
Hertfordshire Mercury
Pomegranate, Jan 2013
S Williams

The Star was first mentioned in a court roll of 1512 though the building is said to date from the 1450s.


In 1735 it was run by Elizabeth Green who inherited it from her husband; she bought the pub next door and turned it into a shop.  It was occupied successively by a barber and wig maker.  Half a century later, most of the shop was included in The Star.  Hertford brewers, Fordham and Flowers acquired the pub in 1790. It was run by the Webb family for the first half of the 1800s.  Later, it belonged to the Canon Brewery Co Ltd; Benskins of Watford in the 1930s and Ind Coope in the 1950s.


The Star [at 14 High Street] was one of a number of buildings in the High Street purchased by the County Council to make way for the controversial ‘relief road’, which thankfully, was never built.  The pub was closed by 1968.


In the early 1970s, the building was in a such a bad state that the chimney had collapsed and a tarpaulin covered the roof. The council finally decided to sell on the condition the new owner would restore it.


It was duly restored and the company who undertook the work were nominated for an award by the Ware Society


In 1981 it opened as Ben’s Brasserie and later, Coleby’s Wine Bar.  In the early 2000s it was Flutes Wine Bar and Restaurant, then Le Spice Merchant Indian restaurant until 2012 when it changed to the Pomegranate restaurant and wine bar.  In 2013, it was refurbished again and is currently Amwell Tandoori.


Some Landlords and Ladies


1730sElizabeth Green

1806 William Holland

1817 Grace Holland

1822 -1837 Thomas Webb

1837 Aaron and Esther Webb

1855 Mrs R Webb

1866 Mr Thorby

1891 – 1929 Emma Phillips

1933 H T Willis

1937 Mrs Eliza Jackson

1944 -1945 Charles Francis Pyle

1948 – Edward Charles Salmon

1949 – 1950  Henry James William Cotter

1951 – 1952  Joseph McKenzie Squier

1953 – Walter John Coaley

1954 – 1955 Leon Louis Pollock

1956 – Joshua Weston Lowe

1957 – 1958  Arthur Louis Voitret

1959  Luke Clegg

1960 – 1963  Donald Cambria Dunkley

1964 – 1966  Ronald Walter Aubrey

1966 – 1968 Herbert and Sylvia Pike

This page was added on 22/01/2013.

Add your comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!